Image Alt

2021-2022 Author’s residency prize winners

  -  News   -  2021-2022 Author’s residency prize winners

2021-2022 Author’s residency prize winners

The Fondation des Treilles “Authors’ Residency” Prize is awarded each year to authors who write and who have already published fictions and essays in French.

For its 14th edition, the jury met on April 13 and June 8, 2021. Among the 48 applications received, the jury selected the projects of François-Henri Désérable, Isabelle Tillerot and Béata Umubyeyi Mairesse.

François-Henri DÉSÉRABLE, he is a young writer who has already won several awards. He plans to write a travel writing in the footsteps of Che Guevara. It was from Córdoba, Argentina, a day’s drive northwest of Buenos Aires, that on December 29, 1951, at the wheel of a Norton 500cc, Alberto Granado, called Mial, twenty-nine years old, left, with his friend Ernesto Guevara, called Fuser, twenty-three years old. Their destinations – Argentina, Chile, Peru, Colombia and Venezuela. From this trip, Guevara and Granado had each drawn a story, prompting the author to follow the same route. Returning six months later in the footsteps of the one who would become the Che, it is this journey through Latin America that he wishes to recount.

Isabelle TILLEROT, art historian, teacher-researcher, proposes to write an art history essay on the plot of the fragment in the 18th century. The fragment is inherent in the history of mankind, its quests and research. If the importance of this object was recognized in the literature of the seventeenth century, then later as the Romantic genre par excellence, and later still for artistic, musical, poetic and philosophical forms and discourses on the art of the contemporary period, no publication exists on the artistic fragment in the 18th century. This project aims to fill this gap in history.

Béata UMUBYEYI-MAIRESSE, writer, wishes to address in her novel two important themes: on the one hand the end of life of African immigrants in France, in particular those who, suffering from Alzheimer’s disease, only speak their mother tongue, but also the question of the repatriation of the bodies of those who want to rest in their countries of origin; on the other hand, a little-known part of colonial history, that of the half-breeds withdrawn from their “native” mothers, placed in religious institutions for “mulattos” and for many sent to Belgium at the time of independence without any plans for return.

The three winners will benefit in 2022 from a monthly allowance of € 2,650 and a two to three month residency at the Fondation des Treilles in the Var. Chaired by Philippe Raynaud, professor emeritus at the University of Paris II, member of the Institut Universitaire de France, vice-president of the Fondation des Treilles, the jury is composed of Claude Habib (professor emeritus at the University of Paris III ), Marc Hersant (professor of literature at the University of Paris III – Sorbonne nouvelle, member of the scientific council of the Fondation des Treilles), Pierre Jourde (writer and literary critic), Carole Martinez (writer), Krzystof Pomian (research director emeritus at the CNRS), Carole Talon-Hugon (professor in the philosophy department of the University of Paris-Est Créteil) and Olivier Bessard-Banquy (writer, university professor, former winner of the Treilles, invited to participate in the meetings of the jury).

The « Author’s residency » Prize winners since 2008 :

2008-2009 : Marie Le Drian, Hélène Prigent
2009-2010 : Rosette, Sami Tchak
2010-2011 : Jacques Dewitte
2011-2012 : Daniel Grojnowski, Nathalie Zaccaï-Reyners
2012-2013 : François Jullien, Álvaro De La Rica
2013-2014 : Olivier Bessard-Banquy, Patrice Nganang
2014-2015 : Patrick Autréaux, Mamadou Ly, Marc Pautrel
2015-2016 : Catherine Mary, Kettly Mars, Nils Trede
2016-2017 : Benjamin Pelletier, Emmanuel Ruben, Pascale Roze
2017-2018 : Louis-Philippe Dalembert, Olivier Dhénin, Michaël Ferrier
2018-2019 : Violaine Bérot, Eddie Breuil, Spyridon Tegos
2019-2020 : Clément Benech, Sophie Divry, Françoise Lacour
2020-2021 : Dimitri Bortnikov, Garance Meillon, Geneviève Parot